Recipes

Celebratory Coconut Banana Bread

I haven’t blogged in ages, thanks to school. But, fear not! Today was the last day of the Winter semester, so I am free again until the middle of August!

WOOHOO!!!!!!

I’ve been having a craving for banana bread for a while and decided to make it as a way to celebrate the end of the semester… and because I had some really ripe bananas sitting around. Plain old banana bread wasn’t enough though. I wanted to create something with more pizzazz, so I looked through the rest of my kitchen and I found shredded coconut in my pantry and coconut milk in the freezer. Then it came to me…

BANANA BREAD WITH COCONUT GLAZE!

The banana bread recipe I used was from Kylee Cooks, but I made some alterations. *And cue drum roll please…! * I made the coconut glaze myself which probably doesn’t seem like a huge accomplishment, but I am super afraid of making my own recipes. So, starting out with a simple glaze was a safe place to start.

So, without further ado…

Banana Bread

Coconut Banana Bread

2 1/2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter (softened)

2 eggs

3 mashed overripe bananas

2 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp cinnamon (optional)

shredded coconut for top of loaf

Instructions

  1. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  2. In using a mixer (stand or electric), cream together the butter and sugar.
  3. Mix in one egg at a time (make sure well combined)
  4. Add in mashed bananas and vanilla.
  5. Fold dry mixture into the wet. Now would be the time to add in the cinnamon, if desired.
  6. Pour batter into a greased bread tin.
  7. Sprinkle shredded coconut on top of batter (as much or as little as desired).
  8. Bake at 325 for about an hour.

Coconut Glaze

4-6 tablespoons coconut milk

1 drop imitation coconut flavoring

1/4 cup powdered sugar

  1. During the last 10 minutes of the bake time, combine coconut milk, coconut flavoring, and powdered sugar. If you want a thicker glaze just add more powdered sugar.
  2. Drizzle over cooled or warm loaf.

 

Hope you animals enjoy this bread as much as we do! 🙂 ♥

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

